When New Brunswick was established in 1784, it was divided into eight counties. As the population grew the original counties were divided and new counties set up; the final complement is 15. These counties are subdivided into civil parishes similar to American townships.

Albert County is located in southeastern New Brunswick. It is bounded by St. John, Kings and Westmorland Counties and the Bay of Fundy.

Albert County was separated from Westmorland County in 1845 and includes the parishes ofHopewell and Hillsborough, (created in 1786); part of the parish of Salisbury, (created in 1787);Coverdale, (separated from Hillsborough in 1828); and Harvey, (separated from Hopewell) and a small part of St. John County in 1838. When Albert County was formed, Elgin was erected from Salisbury. Alma separated from Harvey in 1855



Albert County

County Place Names

The following names were taken from a recent edition of a NB Government publication entitled NB Maps which is sold by NB Geographic Corporation. Mike Harvey extracted every word excluding names of rivers and lakes from the maps of Albert County. I would like to thank him for his efforts on our behalf! The place names include both incorporated and non-incorporated locations. Please email me if you find errors or omissions. Place names followed by an asterix have been contributed by readers. I will try to create links to relevant sites where I can find them. Please email me with any comments or suggestions.

  • Albert Mines, Alma
  • Baltimer Station, Baltimore, Barn Marsh Island, Beaverbrook, Beech Hill,
  • Berryton, Blackwood Lake, Bridgdale, Brookville, Bucket Hill
  • Caledonia Mountain, Canada Hill, Cape Enrage, Cape Station, Casey Hill,
  • Chemical Road, Chester, Church Hill, Churchs Corner, Collier Mountain,
  • Churchs Corner, CollierMountain, Colpitts Settlement, Coverdale, Curryville
  • Daniels Flats, Dawson Settlement, Demoiselle Creek, Dennis Beach, Derry’s
  • Corner, Dickson Hill, Doyle Hill
  • Edgetts Landing, Elgin
  • Ferndale, Five Points, Flint Hill, Forest Hill, Fundy National Park
  • Germantown, Goshen, Gowland Mountain, Grindstone Island, Grub Road,
  • Gunningsville
  • Harrison Settlement, Harvey, Harvey Bank, Hastie Hill, Hastings Hill, Hebron,
  • Hillsborough, Hillside, Hopewell Cape, Hopewell Hill, Hubley Hill
  • Isaiah Corner
  • Jonah Hill
  • Kent Hills, Kilpatrick Hill, Kyle Flat
  • Lewis Mountain, Lime Rocks Hill, Little Ridge, Little River, Livinstones Hill,
  • Long Island, Lower Cape, Lower Coverdale, Lower Turtle Creek, Lumsden
  • Mapleton, Marys Point, Matthews Head, Meadow, Mechanic Lake , Memel
  • Settlement, Middle Coverdale, Middlesex, Midland, Midway, Mitchells Corner,
  • Mount Gideon, Mount Zackie Jonah, Mountville
  • New Horton, New Horton Flats, New Ireland, Nixon
  • Oil Hill, Osborne Corner
  • Parkindale, Pine Glen, Pleasant Mountain, Pleasant Vale, Price, Prosser Brook
  • River View, Riverside-Albert , Riverview, Riverview Heights, Rosevale, Ross
  • Corner, Round Hill
  • Salem, Shenstone, Shepody, Sinclair Hill, Steeves Mills, Steevescote, Stoney
  • Creek, Stoney Creek Station, Surrey, Sweet Mountain, Synton
  • Teahans Corner, Turtle Creek
  • Upper New Horton
  • Waterside, Weldon, West River, West River Mountain, West Riverview,
  • WoodworthSettlement, Wolfe Point